People that Change… u.

The extent of the Wicked Witch of the East see...

The extent of the Wicked Witch of the East seen in The Wizard of Oz as recreated in The Great Movie Ride. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

today i took a rest day to camp out on my lovely brown leather couch that is quite comfortable but not used enough, welp, by me anyway… i started with watching Grace online’s message on encouraging words from Rex’s series on Love Languages. sometimes it takes me awhile to process messages. i put them in the back of my head and they stay there popping up every once in a while as a mental sticky note. This one was a ‘lil quicker than most because my love language is not Words of Affirmation but Mike’s is… continue relaxing, i put on a broadway musical mix i have while surfing the internet and reading news. “For Good” from Wicked comes on and the line “i am who i am today because i knew you” which is sung from the so called wicked witch to the good witch sticks with me. i keep hitting repeat. ok, rabbit trail: i love this musical! fell in love with the wicked witch, so much so that as soon as i saw it i wanted to paint myself green 🙂 yup, a bit of an extremist…

so back to the song, of course it reminds me of all the people who i’ve come into contact with that have influenced me. the people i meet are some of my greatest assets, shaping and changing who i am. constantly. i wouldn’t take any of them out of my life. especially one. Who has shaped my adult life more than anyone else. he is probably my unsung hero. every once in a while i’ll give a flippant post about how great he is… he is kinda easy to take for granted. i don’t express enough how great he is, which is sad because as i already mentioned one of his love languages is words of affirmation.  after today’s message i decided i would be more intentional in this area then when i heard this song, it hit me Mike Ries has had a HUGE (DID I SAY BIGGER THAN ANYONE ELSE I KNOW??) impact on my life. you might say duh, sherlock he is your husband. He has opened my eyes to so many things, not just what a healthy relationship looks like either… The example i’m going to mention here has to do with what i was listening to. yup. He introduced me to my first Broadway musical: Les Miserable then continued with taking me to see A Christmas Carol. Every Christmas we watch the musical “Scrooge”…. i’ve seen this so many times that i can sing most of the songs VERBATIM!! that’s impressive for a person who makes up the words to most songs regardless of how many times she’s heard them cause i can’t remember it no matter how hard i try… i didn’t see Wicked with Mike but i did see it with his sister 🙂 in fact most of the musicals/plays/operas i’ve seen have been with mike or his family. and im in love with Broadway… it’s a good thing i can’t act or sing cause i might try to run away and join a musical… i totally think i’d make an awesome green witch!!! ok so this is but just ONE example and because of him my world is better and broader… i really wouldn’t want to imagine life without him. “because i knew you i have been changed for good….” now i just have to take this song off of repeat before he gets home…

For Good

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Erika

Random thoughts from a post 30 year old going through an early mid-life crisis.
This entry was posted in Feelings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment