breathe in

holding my breath until I turn invisible

Image by qwrrty via Flickr

recently a friend commented that i was probably gonna blog about a conversation we were having once i arrived home  and thought more about it… it’s true, ive been blogging more lately. again its part of my new years resolutions. i want to do things that make me healthy… writing, reading, running, and organic eating, are all a few things that i like to do and make me feel very healthy. blogging being a part of the writing, so yes, watch out you might be in a blog! im not gonna blog about the conversation in question right now… maybe when it’s not expected 😉 

but that’s not this post…

During another conversation, running came up and i was thinking about this the other day while running because i realized how thankful i was for being able to breathe and work out how ever i want. now this might seem like a silly post, especially from a runner but the thing is, i wasn’t always a runner. nope. i was the kid that would come in at the end of the line when there was a running exercise. i was always over weight as a kid. a size 12 (in women) at 12. yeah, i dont think that’s normal.  i was born prematurely with a pretty serious case of asthma and i think i  would use that as an excuse not to exercise. where as now i think running actually helps me breathe better. Anyway, im told the pastor  would frequently halt church services and pray for me to be healed and be able to breathe… his prayer must have been answered (at least for awhile) because i honestly don’t remember any of this… at the age of 7 i was rushed to the hospital for the last time as a kid.  The ER doctor administered a new drug and after that, asthma was just a story that was told to me, well, until i was 22. my Freshman year at a small private bible college in South Carolina i had a bad attack and was rushed to the ER once again… i didn’t have any medication or inhalers. i didn’t even know what to do or what was going on because it had been so long. The physician explained to me that environment is a trigger and the new area probably triggered my sleeping giant, kinda normal in asthmatics… i’ve only had one bad asthma attack since then and it was during  a run. thankfully i was with friends and by this time i had learned to control my asthma even if i was dumb enough not to carry my inhaler on me. oops. now i always run with my inhaler, phone and water. kinda have to. but i run and do just about everything i want to physically. not bad for a fat kid with a severe case of asthma.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Erika

Random thoughts from a post 30 year old going through an early mid-life crisis.
This entry was posted in Events, Favorites, Hobbies, Life, Me, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to breathe in

  1. Desire says:

    Never would have guessed it! Thanks for sharing – very inspiring! 🙂

Leave a comment